Human Resources & Payroll Blog

2017 HR & Payroll Compliance Calendar - Key Dates Every Manager Should Know

Nov 23, 2016 4:51:10 PM / by John Duval

HR compliance calendar 2017

Finally, a compliance calendar for HR and Payroll! If you've ever wondered how to stay on top of everything that goes on in an entire year for Human Resources, this guide is for you. To help you always be a step ahead of 2017, we put together a calendar highlighting some key dates and deadlines for anyone in Human Resources, Benefits, Payroll, or Accounting with important information for reporting and filing, even federal holidays, all in one place.  

For more details about the tax forms and dates mentioned, see the IRS Employer’s Tax Calendar and Employer’s Tax Guide.

2017 HR & Payroll Compliance Calendar-Key Dates HR and Payroll Managers Should Know

January

Federal Holidays

Monday, January 2- New Year’s Day Observed

Monday, January 16- MLK Day 

 

Important Dates and Deadlines in January 2017

  • Sunday, January 1- Coverage begins for 2017 health insurance plans for individuals through the Marketplace.
  • Thursday, January 19- Tax Season begins.
  • Friday, January 20, 2017- Inauguration Day.*
    • *An employee who works in the District of Columbia, Montgomery, or Prince George's Counties in Maryland, or Arlington or Fairfax Counties in Virginia, or the cities of Alexandria or Fairfax in Virginia, and who is regularly scheduled to perform nonovertime work on Inauguration Day, is entitled to a holiday. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(c).) There is no in-lieu-of holiday for employees who are not regularly scheduled to work on Inauguration Day.
  • Tuesday, January 31:
    • Deadline for individuals to enroll in a health insurance plan through the Marketplace.
    • Deadline to file Form 941 reporting on Q4 of 2017.

 

February

Federal Holidays

Monday, February 20- President’s Day (George Washington’s Birthday)

 Important Dates and Deadlines in February 2017

  • Wednesday, February 1- 
    • Deadline for employers to furnish Form W-2 to employees and Form 1099 to contractors, vendors, etc.
    • OSHA secure site to receive submissions of illness and injury records from employers launches.
    • Tuesday, February 28 Deadline to file Forms W-2, W-3, 8027, 1099, 1096, 1094-C, and 1095-C by paper

      ( Employers: get Form 1094-C instructions here.)

 

March

Friday, March 3, 2017- National Employee Appreciation Day

Important Dates and Deadlines in March 2017

Friday, March 31, 2017:

  • End of Q1, calendar year.
  • Deadline to file Forms W-2, W-3, 8027, 1099, 1096, 1094-C, and 1095-C electronically.

 

April

Important Dates and Deadlines in April 2017

  • Tuesday, April 18- Deadline to submit individual tax returns.
    • Traditional tax day, April 15, falls on Saturday in 2017. This would push the deadline to the following Monday. However, Washington D. C. celebrates Emancipation Day on April 16, which will be observed on Monday, April 17, 2017. Therefore, Tax Day is Tuesday, April 18,2017. 
    • Maine and Massachusetts are the exceptions here: these states observe Patriots Day on April 18. The tax return deadline for these states will be Wednesday, April 19.
  • Sunday, April 30- Deadline to file Form 941, employer's quarterly tax return.

 

May

Federal Holidays

Monday, May 29- Memorial Day

 

June

Important Dates and Deadlines in June 2017

  • Friday, June 30, 2017- End of Q2, calendar year.
 

July

Federal Holidays

Tuesday, July 4- Independence Day 

Important Dates and Deadlines in July 2017

  • Saturday, July 1, 2017- Deadline for establishments with 250+ employees in industries covered by the OSHA recordkeeping regulation and establishments with 20-249 employees in certain high-risk industries to submit information from their 2016 Form 300A. 
  • Monday, July 31, 2017- Deadline to file Form 941, employer's quarterly tax return.

 

August

Take a vacation!

 

September

Federal Holidays

Monday, September 4- Labor Day

September 4-8, 2017- National Payroll Week.

Important Dates and Deadlines in September 2017

  • Saturday, September 30, 2017:
    • End of Q3, calendar year.
    • Employee Information Report EEO-1 due .

 

October

Federal Holidays

Monday, October 9- Columbus Day

 Important Dates and Deadlines in October 2017

  • Sunday, October 1- Enrollment begins for 2017 health insurance plans for individuals through the Marketplace.
  • Monday, October 16- Tax return deadline for those who filed for an extension.
  • Tuesday, October 31, 2017- Deadline to file Form 941 , employer's quarterly tax return.

 

November

Federal Holidays

Friday, November 10- Veterans Day Observed

Thursday, November 23- Thanksgiving Day

 

December

Federal Holidays

Monday, December 25- Christmas Day 

Important Dates and Deadlines in December 2017

Before Friday, December 1, 2017- Remind employees to submit a new Form W-4 if withholding allowances have changed or will change in the next year (i.e., change in marital status).

 

If you want more information about the reporting, filing, and compliance mentioned in this artilce, get updates from the Fuse blog  and stay informed about HR and Payroll. 

Happy holidays and mark your calendars for a great 2017!

Topics: Human Resources, EEOC, ACA, Payroll, HR News

So Many Laws. So Little Time.

Get the HR Laws Cheat Sheet.

Subscribe to the Fuse Blog. Claim your free resources. Get great HR content in your inbox.