Big changes are happening in the realm of workplace compliance issues and labor laws in the United States. Noncompliance with government regulations can have serious consequences—and can cost your business big time. Keep up with what's happening between the government and the workplace with the HR Compliance Tracker: your go-to place to stay updated on some major workforce compliance issues.
Florida minimum wage to increase in January 2018
As of January 1, 2018, the minimum wage in Florida will increase to $8.25 per hour, a two percent increase from the current $8.10 per hour established on January 1 of this year.
In 2004, Florida passed a constitutional amendment that established minimum wage rates in Florida. This law requires a minimum wage evaluation on September 30 of each year. This evaluation looks at the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index (CPI) in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1 of the current year. If the calculation is greater than the federal minimum wage rate, the state’s new minimum wage rate will go into effect on January 1 of the following year.
All Florida employees covered by federal minimum wage will be covered by the new state minimum wage. Employers should prepare for the upcoming changes by the end of the year.